Search the catalog above.

Eating a Rainbow

No, I'm not talking about the Skittles® ad campaign that encourages you to Taste the Rainbow.  "Eat the Rainbow" and "Eat Your Colors" are phrases that support the importance of a balanced diet, which includes a variety of fruits, vegetables, and grains.  As you're planning and shopping for your family Thanksgiving, see if you can include all of the colors.

Fruits: raspberries, strawberries, red apples, cherries, red grapes, pink grapefruit, pomegranates, red pears, watermelon, cranberries, tomatoes
Vegetables: radicchio, radishes, beets, red onions, red potatoes

Fruits: apricots, cantaloupe, mangoes, oranges, tangerines, guava, nectarines, peaches, bell peppers
Vegetables: carrots, yams, sweet potatoes, pumpkin

Fruits: bananas, lemons, figs, papaya, pineapple, yellow pears, yellow grapes, yellow tomatoes
Vegetables: corn, yellow potatoes

Fruits: avocado, honeydew melon, green apples, green pears, green grapes, green tomatoes, kiwi, limes
Vegetables: artichokes, arugula, asparagus, broccoli, broccoli rabe, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cucumbers, endive, leeks, lettuces, green onion, okra, snow peas, sugar snap peas, green beans, celery, spinach, kale

Fruits: blackberries, blueberries, plums, purple grapes
Vegetables: purple cabbage, eggplant, blue & purple potatoes

Fruits: bananas, white peaches, brown pears
Vegetables: cauliflower, garlic, kohlrabi, mushrooms, onions, parsnips, white potatoes, shallots, turnips, white corn
Other foods: eggs, bread, cheese, meats

[This information came from a DEEP DIVE in Sesame Street Ready for School: A Parent's Guide to Playful Learning for Children Ages 2 to 5 by Rosemarie T. Truglio & Pamela Thomas (2019).]

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture