Search the catalog above.

Seeing Red

It's easy to find the newest teen titles at the Hoover Public Library.  They are shelved along the main hallway outside of the Teen Department and have red stickers covering their spine labels.  Practice seeing red when you look for these two titles.

Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi & Yusef Salaam (09/01/2020)
ebook on Overdrive
Amal Shahid has always been an artist and a poet. But even in a diverse art school, he’s seen as disruptive and unmotivated by a biased system. Then one fateful night, an altercation in a gentrifying neighborhood escalates into tragedy. “Boys just being boys” turns out to be true only when those boys are white.  Suddenly, at just sixteen years old, Amal’s bright future is upended: he is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and sent to prison. Despair and rage almost sink him until he turns to the refuge of his words, his art. This never should have been his story. But can he change it? 

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated.  Watch the authors talk about this collaboration.

Charming as a Verb by Ben Phillippe (09/08/2020)
Henri “Halti” Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, and the trusted dog walker for his wealthy New York City neighbors. But his easy smiles mask a burning ambition to attend his dream college, Columbia University.  There is only one person who seems immune to Henri’s charms: his “intense” classmate and neighbor Corinne Troy. When she uncovers Henri’s less-than-honest dog-walking scheme, she blackmails him into helping her change her image at school. Henri agrees, seeing a potential upside for himself.  Soon what started as a mutual hustle turns into something more surprising than either of them ever bargained for.

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. Read a sample on the publisher's website.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem