user bar first menu

Library Account Login


Log in to your library account above.

Library Blog

Information on events, library related happenings, and other deep thoughts from our library staff.

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Blog

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day is one of my favorite picture books . . . EVER!  Loved it as a kid, love it as an adult.  So, of course, I have to blog about the movie adaptation that hits theaters this weekend.  Some big-time stars are included in the cast -- Steve Carell and Jennifer Garner -- and the series of misadventures aren't limited just to Alexander.  The whole family has to deal with some disasters.  I'm looking forward to it.  I think it will put MY bad days into perspective.

Judith Viorst has written several books about Alexander.  Find them in the Kid Zone.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Perfect Pair #3

It's time for the third phase in our new blog series Perfect Pair.  Think you know everything about the moon?  I bet you don't know about the powerful effect it has on people.   Let's meet October's pair!

  • What the Moon Said by Gayle Rosengren (2014)
    J  ROS
    Esther's family moves to a farm in Wisconsin when her father loses his job in the Great Depression.  It's a major adjustment -- life on a farm is hard work. Especially if your mother sees dangerous omens everywhere: in dreams, in the configuration of the moon, and in small daily occurrences. 
     
  • A Full Moon Is Rising by Marilyn Singer (2011)
    J  811  SIN
    This poetry book celebrates the moon via various cultures, countries, and festivals.  
Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Number the Stars -- 25th Anniversary

Lois Lowry's Number the Stars was published in 1989 and won the Newbery Medal in 1990.  For the last twenty-five years, the story of Annemarie and her best friend Ellen have tugged the heartstrings of endless young people.  The story is set in Nazi-occupied Copenhagen in 1943.  Ten-year-old Annemarie becomes part of the Danish Jews rescue movement when her best friend moves in with her, pretending to be a member of her family.  And that is just the beginning.  The 25th anniversary edition of the book includes an introduction by the author, who traveled to Copenhagen to do research and conduct interviews before she wrote the story.  She also took the picture of the girl featured on the cover of the book.  If you'd like more information on the author, take a look at this webpage.  It also includes a discussion guide, writing prompts, a vocabulary guide, and an extension activity.  

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla

Great news for fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan!  Ivan is now the star of a nonfiction picture book!  Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla tells the true story of the gorilla that inspired the Newbery-winning book.  It is illustrated by G. Brian Karas and features photos of the real Ivan.

Captured as a baby, Ivan was brought to a Tacoma, Washington, mall to attract shoppers. Gradually, public pressure built until a better way of life for Ivan was found at Zoo Atlanta. From the Congo to America, and from a local business attraction to a national symbol of animal welfare, Ivan the Shopping Mall Gorilla traveled an astonishing distance in miles and in impact.

Take a look at the official website to watch the book trailer, see the author talk about the story, and download a discussion guide. 

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Nick & Tesla's Super-Cyborg Gadget Glove

I discovered this series right before our science-based summer reading program.  And I can't recommend it enough!  It features siblings, Nick and Tesla Holt, who are amateur inventors . . . and detectives.  In each of their adventures, they have to rely on science to save the day.  The fourth book, Nick & Tesla's Super-Cyborg Gadget Glove, comes out tomorrow, October 7, 2014, and it continues that trend. This time, the twins are out to save science itself, as they race against the clock to figure out why a robotic assortment of history’s greatest scientists and inventors keeps going haywire. Is this sabotage, robo-geddon…or something more sinister? To unravel the mystery, they’ll have to keep adding all-new gadgets to their cyborg glove as they stay one step ahead of a hidden adversary.

Each book is written by the same pair of authors, Science Bob Pflugfelder (an elementary teacher) and Steve Hockensmith (an Edgar Award nominee).  And the coolest thing about these books?  They include gadget construction instructions!  You'll love these whizz-bang books.  Trust me.

  1. Nick & Tesla's High-Voltage Danger Lab: A Mystery with Electromagnets, Burglar Alarms, and Other Gadgets You Can Build Yourself
  2. Nick & Tesla's Robot Army Rampage: A Mystery with Hoverbots, Bristlebots, and Other Robots You Can Build Yourself
  3. Nick & Tesla's Secret Agent Gadget Battle: A Mystery with Spy Cameras, Code Wheels, and Other Gadgets You Can Build Yourself
  4. Nick & Tesla's Super-Cyborg Gadget Glove: A Mystery with a Blinking, Beeping, Voice-Recording Gadget Glove You Can Build Yourself
Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Pages