Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

What's Happening at the Hoover Public Library.

Library Blog

Information on events, library related happenings, and other deep thoughts from our library staff.

2019 Boston-Globe Horn Book Awards

Looking for some award-winning titles to add to your summer reading log?  Have you checked out any of the Boston-Globe Horn Book Award winners?  Since 1967, they have celebrated excellence in children’s and young adult literature by awarding in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction.   The winning titles must be first U.S. editions of books published between June 2018 and May 2019, but may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country.   Here are the winners (and honors) for 2019.  

PICTURE BOOK WINNER
The Patchwork Bike by Maxine Beneba Clarke

PICTURE BOOK HONORS
Dreamers by Yuyi Morales
We Are Grateful : Otsaliheliga by Traci Sorrell

FICTION/POETRY WINNER
The Season of Styx Malone by Kekla Magoon

FICTION/POETRY HONORS
Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
On the Come Up by Angie Thomas

NONFICTION WINNER
This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality by Jo Ann Allen Boyce & Debbie Levy

NONFICTION HONORS
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
Nine Months: Before a Baby Is Born by Miranda Paul
 

Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Gummi Worm Day

So, I spent most of my childhood in Germany, home of Haribo.  I am a gummi connoisseur.  I prefer traditional bears and anything that has German on the packaging.  It's just better, guys.  Have I been known to slurp down a gummi worm?  Of course.  Do I prefer the worms that are also sour?  Definitely.  I love Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers.  So I'm celebrating a lesser-known holiday today.  July 15, 2019 is National Gummi Worm Day!  My celebration will include eating gummi worms (naturally) and reading a new picture book that just begs to be brought to life via gummi worms.

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt (March 19, 2019)
E  MAB  NEW BOOK
This is part counting book, part introduction to worms, but all superbly silly. The fact that the author/illustrator can only draw worms will not take anything away from the laugh-out-loud adventure readers will have as they turn the pages of this slightly subversive story.  This hilarious picture book in bright, neon colors is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Lunar Landing

On July 20, 1969, millions of people gathered around their televisions to watch two U.S. astronauts do something no one had ever done before. Wearing bulky space suits and backpacks of oxygen to breathe, Neil Armstrong and Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin became the first human beings to walk on the moon.  After the two stepped onto the lunar surface, Armstrong proclaimed these famous words: “That's one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind."

We will be making one giant leap for library-kind at our Lunar Landing event on July 20, 2019 at 10:30 a.m.  We will celebrate the 50th anniversary of this major accomplishment by dodging asteroids and navigating the darkside of the moon in a Moon Walk Obstacle Course. We'll also sort moon rocks, create a tinfoil moon, and launch straw rockets.  We'll even send cows sling-shotting over the moon.  (Can I get a Hey Diddle Diddle, y'all?)

To learn more about this historic moment, take a look at the always awesome DK Findout!  You can also check out fact-filled books in the Kid Zone.  Look for Dewey Decimal numbers 629.4 and 629.45.  Biographies about Armstrong and Aldrin can be found under JB ARM and JB ALD.  Want to find out how our state is celebrating?  See what the U.S. Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, AL has planned.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Ready to Fly with Roger Day

You've been watching his music videos in the picture book room all summer long.  Now you get to see the one and only Roger Day in the Library Theatre!  Sing and dance along to Roly Poly, Mosquito Burrito, and the rest of your favorites.  And remember that you can find Roger Day at the Hoover Public Library every single day!  We have his CDs in the PERFORMERS section of the Kid Zone music collection, and we have his DVDs under ROG in the Kid Zone's entertainment movie collection.

Roger Day
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
10:30 a.m., 2:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, July 18, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

* IMPORTANT SEATING GUIDELINES *
Seating in the Library Theatre is restricted to 250 guests.  All guests will be seated on a first come, first served basis by library staff.  All parties must be present to be seated.  Saving seats is not allowed.  Please arrive early to ensure your spot!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Under the Sea Reads

I live off the tank farm exit on I-65, so I know exactly how many people have been heading to the beach this summer.  A LOT.  Maybe you're one of them.  Or maybe you haven't had a chance to see the sea.  Either way, you can experience the wonders of the underwater world with these 2019 titles.

Chomp: A Shark Romp by Michael Paul Terranova
E  597.3  TER

Crab Cake by Andrea Tsurumi
E  TSU  NEW BOOK

Fish Everywhere by Britta Teckentrup
J  597  TEC

If You Love Dolphins, You Could Be . . . by May Nakamura
E  591.77  NAK  BEGINNING READER

The Ocean World: A Finding Dory Discovery Book by Paul Dichter
J  577.7  DIC

The Sea Book by Charlotte Milner
J  577.7  MIL

Sea Sirens by Amy Chu
J  CHU  GRAPHIC NOVEL

Steve, Terror of the Seas by Megan Brewis
E  BRE  NEW BOOK

Stubby, the Fearless Squid by Barbara Davis-Pyles
E  DAV  NEW BOOK

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

July Is Graphic Novels in Libraries Month

July 2019 is the debut Graphic Novels in Libraries Month!  If you love, love, LOVE graphic novels, I'm sure you're jumping for joy right now.  If you don't yet understand the appeal, I encourage you to take this month to give graphic novels a try.  Graphix by Scholastic has compiled an excellent educator resource about the benefits of graphic novels.  Take a look!  Then check out some of these popular new releases.

FOR KIDS
Aquicorn Cove by Katie O'Neill (2018)
Camp by Kayla Miller (2019)
The Cardboard Kingdom by Chad Sell (2018)
Dog Man: Brawl of the Wild by Dav Pilkey (2019)
I Am Hermes! by Mordicai Gerstein (2019)
Just Jaime by Terri Libensen (2019)
Maker Comics: Bake Like a Pro! by Falynn Koch (2019)
Maker Comics: Fix a Car! by Chris Schweizer (2019)
Monster Mayhem by Christopher Eliopoulos (2018)
Narwhal's Otter Friend by Ben Clanton (2019)
New Kid by Jerry Craft (2019)
Peter & Ernesto: The Lost Sloths by Graham Annable (2019)
Rocket to the Moon! by Don Brown (2019)
Sanity & Tallulah by Molly Brooks (2018)
Science Comics: Cars: Engines That Move You by Dan Zettwoch (2019)
Science Comics: Polar Bears: Survival on the Ice by Jason Viola (2019)
Science Comics: Wild Weather: Storms, Meteorology, and Climate by M.K. Reed (2019)
This Was Our Pact by Ryan Andrews (2019)
Tiger Vs. Nightmare by Emily Tetri (2018)
Wildheart: The Daring Adventures of John Muir by Julie Bertagna (2019)

FOR TEENS
Bloom by Kevin Panetta (2019)
Check, Please!: #Hockey by Ngozi Ukazu (2018)
Cicada by Shaun Tan (2019)
Crush by Svetlana Chmakova (2018)
Grand Theft Horse by G. Neri (2018)
Hey, Kiddo! by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (2018)
Illegal by Eoin Colfer (2018)
Kiss Number 8 by Colleen A.F. Venable (2019)
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki (2019)
On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden (2018)
The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (2018)
Speak: The Graphic Novel by Laurie Halse Anderson (2018)
To Kill a Mockingbird: The Graphic Novel adapted by Fred Frodham (2018)
The Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees by Don Brown (2018)

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Teen Glow Finale Party

Get your glow on at our Summer Finale Glow Party on Monday, July 15, 2019 at 6:30 p.m.  The lights will go out, the glow-in-the-dark glasses and necklaces and slime will come on.  You'll have a chance to Just Dance on the Wii and create glowing art on the walls.  And there will be food.  No, the snacks won't be glowing.  That sounds dangerous.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Stargazing STEAM

Our final Summer STEAM event is devoted to Stargazing.  The program is Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 4 p.m., which means it will still be daylight.  How can we stargaze in the daytime?!?!  Easy!  You'll improve your star game with stellar activities to prep your eyes and brain for real stargazing.  We'll kick things off with a short constellation video, then rotate through six stations.

#1 - Hanging Constellation
#2 - Constellation Tube
#3 - Magic Toothpick Stars
#4 - Geo Board Constellations
#5 - Pattern Block Star Challenge
#6 - Make a Star Finder

You must be 6-12 years old to participate.  You must also register ahead of time.  Sign up online or by phone (444-7830) begins 07/05.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

David Engel presents Jedi Academy

David Engel's Jedi Academy is a solo, comedy variety show that captivates kids and nostalgic adults alike. Come learn the ways of the Jedi with Panniken Moonjumper, a true Master of Intergalactic fun and adventure and discover the great Force within yourself. During this laugh-riot tribute, your Youngling Jedi Warriors, Princesses and Darth Vaders will be delighted with comic antics, exciting physical challenges, magical mayhem, a visit from a furry alien sidekick, and engage in light saber lessons. May the Force be with you!

David Engel presents Jedi Academy
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
10:30 a.m., 2:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 10, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, July 11, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

* IMPORTANT SEATING GUIDELINES *
Seating in the Library Theatre is restricted to 250 guests.  All guests will be seated on a first come, first served basis by library staff.  All parties must be present to be seated.  Saving seats is not allowed.  Please arrive early to ensure your spot!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!

Your favorite birdbrain picture book star is back!  The Pigeon is about to get SCHOOLED. Do YOU think he should go?

The Pigeon HAS to Go to School! by Mo Willems (July 2, 2019)
Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn’t like it? What if the teacher doesn’t like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?! Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!

Experience even more fun and games with the Pigeon and other beloved Mo Willems's characters at http://pigeonpresents.com/.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Pages