Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

Book Discussion Groups

Join us for Hoover Public Library's book discussion groups. Sessions are monthly. One book is discussed each session. Snacks and drinks will be provided. Feel welcome to join us! Skip Links: Currently Reading, Book Club Kits, No Jacket Required (A Genre Focused Nonfiction Book Discussion Group), Read Your Own Adventure (A Genre Focused Fiction Book Discussion Group.)

Book Club Kits

Check it out! Everything you need for your book club is in this kit (just add readers).

Top

  • 8 or more copies of the title
  • Author biography
  • Reviews of the book
  • Discussion questions
  • An annotated list of other Instant Book Club Kits
Complete Lists of Titles Guidelines
  • Each kit checks out to one group member for a period of six weeks.
  • Kits may not be renewed.
  • Overdue fines are $1 per day.
  • Kits may be reserved up to one year in advance by calling:
    • 444-7820 for Fiction

    Please return kits in a timely manner so others who have reserved kits may have access to them when needed.

Currently Reading

Below you will see a list of what we are reading. Use the links provided to get a copy and join us for a lively discussion. Sessions are the monthly. Snacks and drinks will be provided.

Top

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania

by Erik Larson

On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants. The passengers were surprisingly at ease, even though Germany had declared the seas around Britain to be a war zone. For months, German U-boats had brought terror to the North Atlantic.

Book Group: 
Daytime Nonfiction Book Discussion Group
Tuesday, February 9, 2016 at 10:00 am

Lisettes List

by Susan Vreeland
In 1937, young Lisette Roux and her husband, André, move from Paris to a village in Provence to care for André’s grandfather, Pascal. Lisette regrets having to give up her dream of becoming a gallery apprentice and longs for the comforts and sophistication of Paris. But as she soon discovers, the hilltop town is rich with unexpected pleasures. Pascal once worked in the nearby ochre mines and later became a pigment salesman and frame maker; while selling his pigments in Paris, he befriended Pissarro and Cézanne, some of whose paintings he received in trade for his frames. Pascal begins to tutor Lisette in both art and life, allowing her to see his small collection of paintings and the Provençal landscape itself in a new light. Inspired by Pascal’s advice to “Do the important things first,” Lisette begins a list of vows to herself (#4. Learn what makes a painting great). When war breaks out, André goes off to the front, but not before hiding Pascal’s paintings to keep them from the Nazis’ reach. With German forces spreading across Europe, the sudden fall of Paris, and the rise of Vichy France, Lisette sets out to locate the paintings (#11. Find the paintings in my lifetime). Her search takes her through the stunning French countryside, where she befriends Marc and Bella Chagall, who are in hiding before their flight to America, and acquaints her with the land, her neighbors, and even herself in ways she never dreamed possible. Through joy and tragedy, occupation and liberation, small acts of kindness and great acts of courage, Lisette learns to forgive the past, to live robustly, and to love again.

Find Lisettes List in the catalog.

Book Group: 
Second Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, February 11, 2016 at 10:00 am
(we will be Skyping with the author)

The Presidents Club: Inside The World's Most Exclusive Fraternity

by Nancy Gibbs and Michael Duffy

The New York Times bestselling history of the private relationships among the last thirteen presidents—the partnerships, private deals, rescue missions, and rivalries of those select men who served as commander in chief.

The Presidents Club, established at Dwight Eisenhower’s inauguration by Harry Truman and Herbert Hoover, is a complicated place: its members are bound forever by the experience of the Oval Office and yet are eternal rivals for history’s favor. Among their secrets: How Jack Kennedy tried to blame Ike for the Bay of Pigs. How Ike quietly helped Reagan win his first race in 1966. How Richard Nixon conspired with Lyndon Johnson to get elected and then betrayed him. How Jerry Ford and Jimmy Carter turned a deep enmity into an alliance. The unspoken pact between a father and son named Bush. And the roots of the rivalry between Clinton and Barack Obama.

Time magazine editors and presidential historians Nancy Gibbs and Michael Duffy offer a new and revealing lens on the American presidency, exploring the club as a hidden instrument of power that has changed the course of history.

Book Group: 
Nighttime Nonfiction Book Discussion Group
Thursday, February 25, 2016 at 7 pm

Circling the Sun

by Paula McLain
Brought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe who share his estate. Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent understanding of nature’s delicate balance. But even the wild child must grow up, and when everything Beryl knows and trusts dissolves, she is catapulted into a string of disastrous relationships. Beryl forges her own path as a horse trainer, and her uncommon style attracts the eye of the Happy Valley set, a decadent, bohemian community of European expats who also live and love by their own set of rules. But it’s the ruggedly charismatic Denys Finch Hatton who ultimately helps Beryl navigate the uncharted territory of her own heart. The intensity of their love reveals Beryl’s truest self and her fate: to fly. Set against the majestic landscape of early-twentieth-century Africa, McLain’s powerful tale reveals the extraordinary adventures of a woman before her time, the exhilaration of freedom and its cost, and the tenacity of the human spirit.

Find Circling the Sun in the catalog.

Book Group: 
First Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, March 3, 2016 at 10:00 am

Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier

by Neil deGrasse Tyson

Space Chronicles: Facing the Ultimate Frontier is the 2012 anthology by Neil deGrasse Tyson covering his various writings relating to the history and future of NASA and space travel in general.

Book Group: 
Daytime Nonfiction Book Discussion Group
Tuesday, March 8 at 7 pm

A Star for Mrs. Blake

by April Smith

Cora Blake never dreamed she’d go to Paris. She’s hardly ever left the small fishing village where she grew up. Yet in the summer of 1931, she is invited to travel to France with hundreds of other Gold Star Mothers, courtesy of the U.S. government, to say goodbye to their fallen sons, American casualties of World War I who were buried overseas.

Find A Star for Mrs. Blake in the catalog.

Book Group: 
Second Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, March 10, 2016 at 10:00 am

The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History

by Elizabeth Kolbert

Provides a moving account of the disappearances occurring all around us and traces the evolution of extinction as concept, from its first articulation by Georges Cuvier in revolutionary Paris up through the present day. The sixth extinction is likely to be mankind's most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.

Book Group: 
Nighttime Nonfiction Book Discussion Group
Thursday, March 24, 2016 at 7 pm

Gilead

by Marilynne Robinson
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Find Gilead in the catalog.

Book Group: 
First Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, April 7, 2016 at 10:00 am

Circling the Sun

by Paula McLain
Brought to Kenya from England as a child and then abandoned by her mother, Beryl is raised by both her father and the native Kipsigis tribe who share his estate. Her unconventional upbringing transforms Beryl into a bold young woman with a fierce love of all things wild and an inherent understanding of nature’s delicate balance. But even the wild child must grow up, and when everything Beryl knows and trusts dissolves, she is catapulted into a string of disastrous relationships. Beryl forges her own path as a horse trainer, and her uncommon style attracts the eye of the Happy Valley set, a decadent, bohemian community of European expats who also live and love by their own set of rules. But it’s the ruggedly charismatic Denys Finch Hatton who ultimately helps Beryl navigate the uncharted territory of her own heart. The intensity of their love reveals Beryl’s truest self and her fate: to fly. Set against the majestic landscape of early-twentieth-century Africa, McLain’s powerful tale reveals the extraordinary adventures of a woman before her time, the exhilaration of freedom and its cost, and the tenacity of the human spirit.

Find Circling the Sun in the catalog.

Book Group: 
Second Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 10:00 am

The Guest Room

by Chris Bohjalian

From the New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Sandcastle Girls comes the spellbinding tale of a party gone horribly wrong: two men lie dead in a suburban living room, two women are on the run from police, and a marriage is ripping apart at the seams.

Read a sample

Find The Guest Room in the catalog.

Book Group: 
First Thursday Book Discussion Group
Thursday, May 5, 2016 at 10:00 am

Pages

No Jacket Required Nonfiction Book Group

Wednesday, 17 February 2016 - 10:30am
This month's genre: Poetry 444-7840
Theatre Level Meeting Rooms 10:30 am
Event Age Group: 

No Jacket Required Nonfiction Book Group

Wednesday, 16 March 2016 - 10:30am
This month's genre: Bucket List Books. 444-7840
Event Age Group: