Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

Reference

Book Collection: Nonfiction

Contains informative abstracts, searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. With full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) you can browse, search and download eBook articles anytime from any Internet-connected device. The eBooks you can access are digitally reproduced from trusted, authoritative reference works from Gale and our publishing partners as selected by the Jefferson County Library Cooperative.

History Reference Center

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

InfoTrac General Reference Center Gold

This databases contains general interest that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. Database contains 72,435,148 articles updated as recently as April 28, 2012. All articles have been published between 1980 and 2012.

Opposing Viewpoints Resources

Part of Gale Databases, Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED), a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. OED, updated every three months.

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Oxford Reference Online Premium service contains 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press in the Core Collection with an expanding range of key titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.  Which adds an additional 140,000 entries.

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

World Data Analyst

Encyclopædia Britannica World Data Analyst, combines detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display, this resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create interesting and information comparative charts and tables.