Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Library Account Login


Log in to your library account above.
Search the catalog above.

Kidzone

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Did you know about our Teletales?
Call 205-444-7838 to hear a new story every week read by a different Hoover Library staff member.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

Snoopy Says Sign Up!

Snoopy, the world-famous beagle (and Charlie Brown's best friend), will soon star in a brand-new movie.  The Peanuts Movie will hit theaters on November 6, 2015.  How will Snoopy use his celebrity status in the meantime?  To help libraries, of course!  Snoopy is the honorary chair of our National Library Card Sign-Up Month campaign this September.  Snoopy, the king of cool, knows that nothing is cooler than having a library card.  It's the most important school supply of all!  Library cards are free for all Hoover City and Jefferson County residents, including kids. Once you have one, you can use it to check out books, movies, music, puppets, and more!  Stop by the Circulation Desk when the library reopens on September 12!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Mysteries of the Magesterium Deepen

I was a little late reading the first book in The Magesterium series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare.  I just finished The Iron Trial on August 8th, and the sequel is already out!  I can't reveal much about The Copper Gauntlet in this blog.  It would unavoidably be swamped with spoilers.  But I can tell you this.  There is NO WAY I'm going to be a little late reading it.  I can't wait to find out what happens next with Callum, Aaron, Tamara, and Havoc! 

(In case you were wondering . . . yes, this is a great choice for fellow Harry Potter fans.)

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Waiting for Kevin Henkes

What are we Waiting for?  Kevin Henkes new picture book!

Five friends -- an owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig -- sit happily on a windowsill, waiting for something amazing to happen. The owl is waiting for the moon. The pig is waiting for the rain. The bear is waiting for the wind. The puppy is waiting for the snow. And the rabbit is just looking out the window because he likes to wait! What will happen? Will patience win in the end? Or someday will the friends stop waiting and do something unexpected?

Waiting is a big part of childhood—waiting in line, waiting to grow up, waiting for something special to happen—but in this book, a child sets the stage and pulls the strings. Timeless, beautiful, and deeply heartfelt, this picture book about imaginative play, the seasons, friendship, and surprises marks a new pinnacle in Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes's extraordinary career.

Yes, summer reading is over, but that doesn't mean you have to quit reading books about heroes!  Especially real-life heroes.  How else are you going to be inspired?

The Making of a Navy SEAL: My Story of Surviving the Toughest Challenge and Training the Best by Brandon Webb

"Brandon Webb's experiences in the world's most elite sniper corps are the stuff of legend. From his grueling years of training in Naval Special Operations to his combat tours in the Persian Gulf and Afghanistan, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a rare and riveting look at the inner workings of the U.S. military through the eyes of a covert operations specialist. Yet it is Webb's distinguished second career as a lead instructor for the shadowy "sniper cell" and Course Manager of the Navy SEAL Sniper Program that trained some of America's finest and deadliest warriors--including Marcus Luttrell and Chris Kyle--that makes his story so compelling.  From a candid chronicle of his student days, going through the sniper course himself, to his hair-raising close calls with Taliban and al Qaeda forces in the northern Afghanistan wilderness, to his vivid account of designing new sniper standards and training some of the most accomplished snipers of the twenty-first century, Webb provides a rare look at the making of the Special Operations warriors who are at the forefront of today's military. Explosive, revealing, and intelligent, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a uniquely personal glimpse into one of the most challenging and secretive military training courses in the world."

The Holm siblings, Jennifer L. and Matthew, are the creators of the Babymouse series.  They have teamed up once again -- this time to create a graphic novel based on true events from their childhood.  Sunny Side Up is a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Cece Bell!

It's the summer of 1976.  Sunny’s planned vacation with a best friend has turned into a solo trip to visit her grandfather at a Florida retirement village.  Happily, there is one other child around: Buzz, a groundskeeper's boy, who turns her on to superhero comics and joins her in starting up a moderately lucrative business recovering golf balls and residents' (illegal) lost cats. Less happily, interspersed flashbacks reveal the reason for the sudden change of plans by tracking her older brother Dale's increasingly erratic behavior and drug abuse, leading up to an intervention in the wake of a violent incident.

Pages