Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

HPL Kids

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

Graphic Novels for Animal Enthusiasts

Graphic novels are sought out all year round, but in summer?  Their popularity goes through the roof!  If you're a graphic novel enthusiast who also wants to read about animals (our official Summer Reading theme is Tails & Tales), I've put together a list of recommendations.  Take a look!

Summer Reading 2021 - Graphic Novels

Are you a parent still a bit concerned that your child's graphic novel obsession is a negative thing?  Take a look at this helpful resource from Scholastic.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Storytime Zoology Field Guide: Tales That Fly!

Welcome to the fourth week of our summer storytime series!  We’re continuing with Tales That Fly, which means it’s all about . . . BIRDS!  Here are all the ways you can learn about our feathered friends this week.

1. Access this week’s Field Guide for book and music recs, hands-on activity ideas, a virtual field trip, a bedtime math challenge, and an Alabama animal fact.

2. Take a look at our Storytime Short on Facebook or YouTube this Wednesday, June 23, 2021 at 10 a.m.  Miss Katie Jane & Miss Alyssa will introduce you to some cool sign language and a rhyming blackbird hand game.

3. Head to Veterans Park for Tales with Tails this Thursday, June 24, 2021 at 10 a.m. (weather permitting).  Miss Katie Jane & Miss Anna Beth will share songs, dances, a silly birdsong story, and a take-home craft.  Water and popsicles provided to help you keep cool! 
Featured story = Froodle by Antoinette Portis

4. BONUS!  I’ve put together a great summer reading list of books that feature birds and more birds, even those that cannot fly. 

Don't forget to access the summer issue of Stroller Coaster, our early childhood newsletter!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

World Giraffe Day

Monday, June 21 is World Giraffe Day!  Celebrate the longest-necked animal on the longest day of the year.  Giraffes are my favorite creatures -- I think of them as my spirit animal -- so I will definitely go ALL OUT in my commemorative festivities.  I'm talking outfit, accessories (like my sequined giraffe-print Converse), and . . . BOOKS!

Free Willy came out in 1993, when I was 13 and my sister was 10.  We loved it so much that we bought the VHS tape.  This was a VERY BIG DEAL.  We mostly borrowed our videos from the local library.  This movie had several things that made it a favorite.  Most importantly, it starred Keiko the orca as Willy.  Orcas are amazing when they are just being their natural selves.  When they are trained, they are mind-blowing.  And when they make a grand escape by jumping over a sea wall (with a person on top of it, hand stretched high)?  WOW!!!!  My sister and I often recreated that scene with plush animals.  The movie also had that soul-moving Michael Jackson song, Will You Be There?.  And, I have to admit, I also loved the movie because I had a big crush on Jason James Richter, the boy who played Jesse.  (At least I had moved beyond fox crushes).  

The time is now for this anxious little guy.  Scaredy Squirrel is starring in a brand-new graphic novel series that's perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly.  And he's funnier (and scared-ier) than ever!

Pages