Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

HPL Kids

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

Teen Titans GO! at KidCon

This is Hoover Public Library's fifth anniversary of our Sci-Fi/Fantasy Fest!  We hope you'll take part in Sci-Five in as many ways as possible, July 26-28, 2019.  But DEFINITELY mark your calendar for the KidCon portion.  Teen Titans GO! is taking over the Kid Zone on Saturday, July 27, 2019 at 10:30 a.m.  Join Robin, Starfire, Raven, Beast Boy and Cyborg for a dance party, a trip through Jump City, Pin the Tail on Beast Boy, & more comedic superhero fun!  After the event, swing by the movie collection to pick up some episodes or the full-length feature starring our favorite team of 5.  They're shelved under J  TEE  DVD.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Mr. Molecule's Bing Bang Boom Science Show

We're ending our Summer Reading season with a Hoover debut performer.  When Mr. Molecule unleashes the power and excitement of science -- BING! BANG! BOOM! -- he creates an explosion of fun and learning that kids can't resist.  This fast-paced, interactive show is filled with wild and wacky experiments for grades K-8, including a 12-foot tall Foam Monster and the Bernoulli TP Challenge.  Yep, we're definitely ending summer with a BANG!

Mr. Molecule's Bing Bang Boom Science Show
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
10:30 a.m., 2:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, July 25, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

* IMPORTANT SEATING GUIDELINES *
Seating in the Library Theatre is restricted to 250 guests.  All guests will be seated on a first come, first served basis by library staff.  All parties must be present to be seated.  Saving seats is not allowed.  Please arrive early to ensure your spot!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

2019 Ezra Jack Keats Award

While writing yesterday's blog, I realized that there is another award I failed to blog about earlier this year.  An EPIC fail on my part!  The Ezra Jack Keats Award is presented each year to an outstanding writer and illustrator who have created an extraordinary children’s book that reflects the diverse nature of our culture.  It is named in honor of the author/illustrator who gave us 1963 Caldecott Medal-winning The Snowy DayI absolutely adore the two 2019 winners!  Read them, then read their reactions to winning the EJK.

Kitten and the Night Watchman by John Sullivan, illustrated by Taeuun Yoo
E  SUL
The story gently weaves the work a night watchman does with the poetry of a sleeping construction site, the warmth of a new kitten and the pleasure of going home at sunrise to a loving family.  Inspired by the true story of the author meeting a stray cat while working as a night watchman. The cat, Beebe, was John’s companion for seventeen years.

Thank You, Omu written and illustrated by Oge Mora
E  MOR
In the busy city who would think that Omu’s fragrant and tasty stew could bring people together as if they lived in a small town? This is a playful kind of stone soup tale, but told in reverse! The bright illustrations, reminiscent of Keatsian collage, show us that kind human connections form intimate support groups amidst any kind of bustle.

Looking for some award-winning titles to add to your summer reading log?  Have you checked out any of the Boston-Globe Horn Book Award winners?  Since 1967, they have celebrated excellence in children’s and young adult literature by awarding in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction.   The winning titles must be first U.S. editions of books published between June 2018 and May 2019, but may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country.   Here are the winners (and honors) for 2019.  

So, I spent most of my childhood in Germany, home of Haribo.  I am a gummi connoisseur.  I prefer traditional bears and anything that has German on the packaging.  It's just better, guys.  Have I been known to slurp down a gummi worm?  Of course.  Do I prefer the worms that are also sour?  Definitely.  I love Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers.  So I'm celebrating a lesser-known holiday today.  July 15, 2019 is National Gummi Worm Day!  My celebration will include eating gummi worms (naturally) and reading a new picture book that just begs to be brought to life via gummi worms.

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt (March 19, 2019)
E  MAB  NEW BOOK
This is part counting book, part introduction to worms, but all superbly silly. The fact that the author/illustrator can only draw worms will not take anything away from the laugh-out-loud adventure readers will have as they turn the pages of this slightly subversive story.  This hilarious picture book in bright, neon colors is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit.

Pages