user bar first menu

Library Account Login


Log in to your library account above.
Search the catalog above.

Kidzone

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Did you know about our Teletales?
Call 205-444-7838 to hear a new story every week read by a different Hoover Library staff member.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

Waiting for Kevin Henkes

What are we Waiting for?  Kevin Henkes new picture book!

Five friends -- an owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig -- sit happily on a windowsill, waiting for something amazing to happen. The owl is waiting for the moon. The pig is waiting for the rain. The bear is waiting for the wind. The puppy is waiting for the snow. And the rabbit is just looking out the window because he likes to wait! What will happen? Will patience win in the end? Or someday will the friends stop waiting and do something unexpected?

Waiting is a big part of childhood—waiting in line, waiting to grow up, waiting for something special to happen—but in this book, a child sets the stage and pulls the strings. Timeless, beautiful, and deeply heartfelt, this picture book about imaginative play, the seasons, friendship, and surprises marks a new pinnacle in Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes's extraordinary career.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

The Making of a Navy SEAL

Yes, summer reading is over, but that doesn't mean you have to quit reading books about heroes!  Especially real-life heroes.  How else are you going to be inspired?

The Making of a Navy SEAL: My Story of Surviving the Toughest Challenge and Training the Best by Brandon Webb

"Brandon Webb's experiences in the world's most elite sniper corps are the stuff of legend. From his grueling years of training in Naval Special Operations to his combat tours in the Persian Gulf and Afghanistan, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a rare and riveting look at the inner workings of the U.S. military through the eyes of a covert operations specialist. Yet it is Webb's distinguished second career as a lead instructor for the shadowy "sniper cell" and Course Manager of the Navy SEAL Sniper Program that trained some of America's finest and deadliest warriors--including Marcus Luttrell and Chris Kyle--that makes his story so compelling.  From a candid chronicle of his student days, going through the sniper course himself, to his hair-raising close calls with Taliban and al Qaeda forces in the northern Afghanistan wilderness, to his vivid account of designing new sniper standards and training some of the most accomplished snipers of the twenty-first century, Webb provides a rare look at the making of the Special Operations warriors who are at the forefront of today's military. Explosive, revealing, and intelligent, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a uniquely personal glimpse into one of the most challenging and secretive military training courses in the world."

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

I Like My Graphic Novels Sunny Side Up

The Holm siblings, Jennifer L. and Matthew, are the creators of the Babymouse series.  They have teamed up once again -- this time to create a graphic novel based on true events from their childhood.  Sunny Side Up is a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Cece Bell!

It's the summer of 1976.  Sunny’s planned vacation with a best friend has turned into a solo trip to visit her grandfather at a Florida retirement village.  Happily, there is one other child around: Buzz, a groundskeeper's boy, who turns her on to superhero comics and joins her in starting up a moderately lucrative business recovering golf balls and residents' (illegal) lost cats. Less happily, interspersed flashbacks reveal the reason for the sudden change of plans by tracking her older brother Dale's increasingly erratic behavior and drug abuse, leading up to an intervention in the wake of a violent incident.

Chris Lynch is a total ace at war fiction.  He concludes his series about "The Good War" with World War II: The Liberators.

"The US Marines Corps is home to some of the roughest, toughest combatants in World War II. Their courage and daring are legendary. And the best of the best — the boldest among them are joining the Corps' elite new paratrooper combat unit. As Paramarines, they'll be expected to do everything a typical Marine does... and do it while skydiving. Nick Nardini knows that he's destined to become a Paramarine. He also knows that he has to convince his best friend, Zachary Klecko, to sign up too. Nardini and Klecko used to be inseparable, ever since they met in kindergarten, but recently they've been drifting apart. Fighting in the same battalion — and jumping out of the same planes —- seems to Nardini like a surefire way to restore their bond and come out of the war stronger than ever. The Axis powers, however, may have other ideas… When Nick Nardini enlists in the Marine Corps' new paratrooper combat unit at the start of World War II, he talks his best friend, Zachary Klecko, into joining him in what he sees as an adventure — but from boot camp on it is clear that Zach is much more serious about the war than Nick is, at least until they are assigned to one of the POW recovery teams on the Japanese mainland."

  1. World War II: The Right Fight
  2. World War II: Dead in the Water
  3. World War II: Alive and Kicking
  4. World War II: The Liberators [no record yet -- keep checking!]

Tedd Arnold has done it again!  Prince Fly Guy, the fifteenth Fly Guy book, will surely fly right off the shelves!

"Buzz has a homework assignment to write a fairy tale and he asks Fly Guy to help. Fly Guy doesn't like to think of himself as some of Buzz's suggestions--an ugly troll, a smelly pig herder--so he becomes a handsome prince instead! Prince Fly Guy flies to a dark castle, fends off a giant, and rescues a beautiful princess."

Find all of Fly Guy's stories under E  ARN  BEGINNING READER.
And don't miss Fly Guy's nonfiction adventures!
Fly Guy Presents: Dinosaurs under E  567.9  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Firefighters under E  628.9  ARN  BEGINNING READER 
Fly Guy Presents: Insects under E  595.7  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Sharks under E  597.2  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Space under E  520  ARN  BEGINNING READER

 

Pages