Search the catalog above.

HPL Kids

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

You might notice that many of these titles are perfect for sports fans.  That's because our staff has recently started a Reading Wildly campaign, focusing on a different genre each month.  We recently tackled sports fiction.
OCTOBER 2014
KIDS

Athlete Vs Mathlete: Time-Out by W. C. Mack (#3)
The Books of Elsewhere: Still Life by Jacqueline West (#5)
The Castle Behind Thorns by Merrie Haskell
The Contract by Derek Jeter
Double Reverse by Fred Bowen
Emperor Pickletine Rides the Bus by Tom Angleberger (#6)
Fenway Fever by John H. Ritter
GuysRead: The Sports Pages edited by Jon Scieszka
The Kicks: Saving the Team by Alex Morgan (#1)
The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day is one of my favorite picture books . . . EVER!  Loved it as a kid, love it as an adult.  So, of course, I have to blog about the movie adaptation that hits theaters this weekend.  Some big-time stars are included in the cast -- Steve Carell and Jennifer Garner -- and the series of misadventures aren't limited just to Alexander.  The whole family has to deal with some disasters.  I'm looking forward to it.  I think it will put MY bad days into perspective.

Judith Viorst has written several books about Alexander.  Find them in the Kid Zone.

It's time for the third phase in our new blog series Perfect Pair.  Think you know everything about the moon?  I bet you don't know about the powerful effect it has on people.   Let's meet October's pair!

Lois Lowry's Number the Stars was published in 1989 and won the Newbery Medal in 1990.  For the last twenty-five years, the story of Annemarie and her best friend Ellen have tugged the heartstrings of endless young people.  The story is set in Nazi-occupied Copenhagen in 1943.  Ten-year-old Annemarie becomes part of the Danish Jews rescue movement when her best friend moves in with her, pretending to be a member of her family.  And that is just the beginning.  The 25th anniversary edition of the book includes an introduction by the author, who traveled to Copenhagen to do research and conduct interviews before she wrote the story.  She also took the picture of the girl featured on the cover of the book.  If you'd like more information on the author, take a look at this webpage.  It also includes a discussion guide, writing prompts, a vocabulary guide, and an extension activity.  

Great news for fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan!  Ivan is now the star of a nonfiction picture book!  Ivan: The Remarkable True Story of the Shopping Mall Gorilla tells the true story of the gorilla that inspired the Newbery-winning book.  It is illustrated by G. Brian Karas and features photos of the real Ivan.

Captured as a baby, Ivan was brought to a Tacoma, Washington, mall to attract shoppers. Gradually, public pressure built until a better way of life for Ivan was found at Zoo Atlanta. From the Congo to America, and from a local business attraction to a national symbol of animal welfare, Ivan the Shopping Mall Gorilla traveled an astonishing distance in miles and in impact.

Take a look at the official website to watch the book trailer, see the author talk about the story, and download a discussion guide. 

Pages