Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

HPL Kids

The Kidzone has programs galore as well as books, movies, and other cool stuff. Read our blog below for more information and check out our upcoming events to get an idea of what's happening at the Kidzone! Our main phone number is 205.444.7830.

Recent Book Reviews

Horten's Incredible Illusions: Magic, Mystery & Another Very Strange Adventure
Lula Bell on Geekdom, Freakdom & the Challenges of Bad Hair
A Mutiny in Time
Starry River of the Sky
Pickle: The (Formerly) Anonymous Prank Club of Fountain Point Middle School
Iron Hearted Violet
Jake and Lily
Paris Pan Takes the Dare
Me and the Pumpkin Queen
Read All About It!
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Nerd Camp
The Classroom
Smells Like Dog
Mission Unstoppable
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
The Mark of Athena
A Whole Lot of Lucky
Alien on a Rampage
One for the Murphys

More of our favorite books on GoodReads »

Kidzone Blog

The creator of the hilarious and action-packed Bird & Squirrel series kickstarts a new graphic novel series about a feline secret agent who will do whatever it takes to save the world—even if it means destroying a few things along the way.

I really enjoyed the first City Spies book, which brought together five kids from all over the world and transformed them into real-life spies named after the cities they were recruited from.  So I'm thrilled to announce the sequel!  This series is perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.

It's St. Patrick's Day, the day of shamrocks and green, green, green!  I'm wearing it (are you?), and I'm writing about it.  Enjoy three picture books that celebrate the official color of today!

My master's degree is in library and information studies, but my bachelor's degree is in speech language pathology.  I went to the University of Montevallo, so I was also able to get a minor in Deaf studies.  I've long been interested in Deaf culture, especially American Sign Language.  Once I became a children's librarian, I started reading every book I could find about the topic.  Unfortunately, it is not very much.  Disability representation in literature has a LONG way to go.  But there is definitely enough to get you started, and Deaf History Month is the perfect time to start. 

Welcome to the eleventh week of storytime!  This week's theme is Hands CanAccess the official handout for additional activities and book recommendations.  Supplies for this week's Handprint Pigeon craft will be available for pickup in the Kid Zone beginning Monday morning at 9 a.m. These supplies are on a first come, first served basis.  Remember, storytimes will post to our HPL Kids Facebook page at 10:30 a.m. on each of these days. 

Pages