Search the catalog above.

Teens

Come See Us At The Teens Desk. We Can Help You Find Your Next Favorite Book!

Teens Blog

Black Fantasy Novels

The publishing industry has become much more inclusive during my tenure at Hoover Public Library, but it still has a long way to go.  For example, there have been so many amazing titles written by and featuring Black characters.  BUT almost all of them are either historical fiction or realistic fiction.  And the world needs more literary variety!  Fantasy has been a very popular genre with young readers forever, so why aren't there more fantastical adventures starring Black protagonists?!  I just don't know.  But I do know how to find what is currently available.  

JUVENILE
Amari and the Night Brothers by B. B. Alston (2021- ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
Black Panther: The Young Prince by Ronald L. Smith (2018 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, ebook on Hoopla)
Dragons in a Bag by Zetta Elliott (2018 - #1- ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
Hoodoo by Ronald L. Smith (2015 - ebook on Overdrive, ebook & audiobook on Hoopla)
Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor (2020 - ebook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste (2015 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, ebook & audiobook on Hoopla)
The Last Last-Day-of-Summer by Lamar Giles (2019 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron (2020 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
Root Magic by Eden Royce (2021 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky by Kwame Mbalia (2019 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, ebook on Hoopla) 

TEEN
Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor (2017 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi (2017 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton (2018 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, ebook & audiobook on Hoopla)
A Blade So Black by L. L. McKinney (2018 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi (2018 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
Daughters of Jubilation by Kara Lee Corthron (2020 - ebook on Overdrive)
The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna (2021)
Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron (2019 - #1 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, ebook & audiobook on Hoopla)
Legendborn by Tracy Deonn (2020 - ebook on Overdrive)
Pet by Akwaeke Emezi (2019 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
A Phoenix First Must Burn: Sixteen Stories of Black Girl Magic, Resistance, and Hope edited by Patrice Caldwell (2020 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive, audiobook on Hoopla)
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin by Roseanne A. Brown (2020 - ebook & audiobook on Overdrive)
Wings of Ebony by J. Elle (2021)

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

The Project

Are you ready for the sensational follow-up to the 2019 Edgar Award Winner Sadie?  This pulls-no-punches thriller about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister from a cult.  Don't miss the Rolling Stones interview with the author!

The Project by Courtney Summers (02/02/21)
"The Unity Project saved my life."
Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died, Lo's sister, Bea, joined The Unity Project, leaving Lo in the care of their great aunt. Thanks to its extensive charitable work and community outreach, The Unity Project has won the hearts and minds of most in the Upstate New York region, but Lo knows there's more to the group than meets the eye. She's spent the last six years of her life trying―and failing―to prove it.

"The Unity Project murdered my son."
When a man shows up at the magazine Lo works for claiming The Unity Project killed his son, Lo sees the perfect opportunity to expose the group and reunite with Bea once and for all. When her investigation puts her in the direct path of its charismatic and mysterious leader, Lev Warren, he proposes a deal: if she can prove the worst of her suspicions about The Unity Project, she may expose them. If she can't, she must finally leave them alone. 
But as Lo delves deeper into The Project, the lives of its members, and spends more time with Lev, it upends everything she thought she knew about her sister, herself, cults, and the world around her―to the point she can no longer tell what's real or true. Lo never thought she could afford to believe in Lev Warren . . . but now she doesn't know if she can afford not to.

Welcome to The Unity Project.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Virtual Field Trip: Coral Reef Dive

Coral reefs are large underwater structures composed of the skeletons of colonial marine invertebrates called coral. The coral species that build reefs are known as hermatypic, or "hard," corals because they extract calcium carbonate from seawater to create a hard, durable exoskeleton that protects their soft, sac-like bodies. Each individual coral is referred to as a polyp. Coral polyps live on the calcium carbonate exoskeletons of their ancestors, adding their own exoskeleton to the existing coral structure. As the centuries pass, the coral reef gradually grows, one tiny exoskeleton at a time, until they become massive features of the marine environment.  Corals are found all over the world's oceans, from the Aleutian Islands off the coast of Alaska to the warm tropical waters of the Caribbean Sea. The biggest coral reefs are found in the clear, shallow waters of the tropics and subtropics. The largest of these coral reef systems, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, is more than 1,500 miles long!  Dive deep and take a closer look at these amazing structures with one (or both!) of these virtual field trips.

The newest title from this bestselling and award-winning author is a love story - not only about a romantic relationship but about how a girl finds herself and falls in love with who she really is.

Fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds need to move this novel-in-verse to the top of their to-read list.  It's a ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, from the author of Like Vanessa.

Pages

Teen Services

Teen Volunteers

March 31, 2020
During this time of staying safe and distancing from one another the Hoover Public Library will not be accepting applications for teen volunteers.  We hope to bring back this wonderful program in the future.  As circumstances change and as we make plans for the future, we will update this page with new information as it is forthcoming.

We look forward to seeing you again and wish for the good health of all our citizens.

Follow our social media channels to keep up with library news.