user bar first menu

Library Account Login


Log in to your library account above.
Search the catalog above.

Teens

Come See Us At The Teens Desk. We Can Help You Find Your Next Favorite Book!

Teens Blog

The Making of a Navy SEAL

Yes, summer reading is over, but that doesn't mean you have to quit reading books about heroes!  Especially real-life heroes.  How else are you going to be inspired?

The Making of a Navy SEAL: My Story of Surviving the Toughest Challenge and Training the Best by Brandon Webb

"Brandon Webb's experiences in the world's most elite sniper corps are the stuff of legend. From his grueling years of training in Naval Special Operations to his combat tours in the Persian Gulf and Afghanistan, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a rare and riveting look at the inner workings of the U.S. military through the eyes of a covert operations specialist. Yet it is Webb's distinguished second career as a lead instructor for the shadowy "sniper cell" and Course Manager of the Navy SEAL Sniper Program that trained some of America's finest and deadliest warriors--including Marcus Luttrell and Chris Kyle--that makes his story so compelling.  From a candid chronicle of his student days, going through the sniper course himself, to his hair-raising close calls with Taliban and al Qaeda forces in the northern Afghanistan wilderness, to his vivid account of designing new sniper standards and training some of the most accomplished snipers of the twenty-first century, Webb provides a rare look at the making of the Special Operations warriors who are at the forefront of today's military. Explosive, revealing, and intelligent, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a uniquely personal glimpse into one of the most challenging and secretive military training courses in the world."

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

I Like My Graphic Novels Sunny Side Up

The Holm siblings, Jennifer L. and Matthew, are the creators of the Babymouse series.  They have teamed up once again -- this time to create a graphic novel based on true events from their childhood.  Sunny Side Up is a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Cece Bell!

It's the summer of 1976.  Sunny’s planned vacation with a best friend has turned into a solo trip to visit her grandfather at a Florida retirement village.  Happily, there is one other child around: Buzz, a groundskeeper's boy, who turns her on to superhero comics and joins her in starting up a moderately lucrative business recovering golf balls and residents' (illegal) lost cats. Less happily, interspersed flashbacks reveal the reason for the sudden change of plans by tracking her older brother Dale's increasingly erratic behavior and drug abuse, leading up to an intervention in the wake of a violent incident.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Lair of Dreams

In 2012, Libba Bray blew me (and the rest of the reading world) away with The Diviners, her 1920’s-set New York City crime thriller laced with paranormal and occult happenings.  Then she blew us off!  No sequel for three long years!  Our wait is over, and critics agree that Lair of Dreams was worth the wait.  The story picks up with flapper Evie O’Neill, who has not only revealed herself as a Diviner after battling a serial killer, but has become a media sensation. Meanwhile, a strange sleeping sickness spreads across New York, and the Diviners—including Henry Dubois and Ling Chan, who can walk in dreams—must figure out how to save the city.  

Chris Lynch is a total ace at war fiction.  He concludes his series about "The Good War" with World War II: The Liberators.

"The US Marines Corps is home to some of the roughest, toughest combatants in World War II. Their courage and daring are legendary. And the best of the best — the boldest among them are joining the Corps' elite new paratrooper combat unit. As Paramarines, they'll be expected to do everything a typical Marine does... and do it while skydiving. Nick Nardini knows that he's destined to become a Paramarine. He also knows that he has to convince his best friend, Zachary Klecko, to sign up too. Nardini and Klecko used to be inseparable, ever since they met in kindergarten, but recently they've been drifting apart. Fighting in the same battalion — and jumping out of the same planes —- seems to Nardini like a surefire way to restore their bond and come out of the war stronger than ever. The Axis powers, however, may have other ideas… When Nick Nardini enlists in the Marine Corps' new paratrooper combat unit at the start of World War II, he talks his best friend, Zachary Klecko, into joining him in what he sees as an adventure — but from boot camp on it is clear that Zach is much more serious about the war than Nick is, at least until they are assigned to one of the POW recovery teams on the Japanese mainland."

  1. World War II: The Right Fight
  2. World War II: Dead in the Water
  3. World War II: Alive and Kicking
  4. World War II: The Liberators [no record yet -- keep checking!]

Over 2 million people have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman when they read Wonder by R. J. Palacio.  Palacio also penned three short stories. These titles -- The Julian Chapter, Pluto, and Shingaling -- have only been available in ebook format . . . until now.  All three are presented in a single book called Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories.  These stories are an extra peek at Auggie before he started at Beecher Prep and during his first year there. Readers get to see him through the eyes of Julian, the bully; Christopher, Auggie’s oldest friend; and Charlotte, Auggie’s new friend at school.  Perfect for readers eager for more Wonder in their life!

Pages

Teen Services

Teen Community Service Volunteer Guidelines

Volunteer applications are taken year round, but opportunities are available on a limited basis. During the school year times are available for special programs only. Applications will be held on file until opportunities arise. Volunteers are needed more during the summer to help with the library’s Summer Reading Program.