About The Library Theatre

Deana Carter performing in 2019

The Library Theatre is known internationally as a world-class touring venue. We present plays, music, dance and a variety of eclectic events. We are located on the Lower Level of the Hoover Library. Most of our musical artists are Grammy winners and names you would recognize. Our plays are routed National Tours. We are also home to 7 art galleries: 3 regional rotating galleries, a Teen’s gallery, a children’s gallery and 2 traveling exhibits from our permanent collection.

Some of our favorite performers over the years include Marc Cohn, Blind Boys of Alabama, Pam & Mel Tillis, Phil Vassar, Dailey & Vincent, Lorrie Morgan, Edwin McCain, The Gatlin Brothers, Molly Ringwald, Kathy Mattea, Rita Coolidge, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Drew Holcomb, Los Lobos, Nickel Creek, Leon Redbone and the list goes on and on. Dailey and Vincent have played on our stage a total of 7 times, all with sold out performances and a list of over 300 patrons on the waiting list that we still could not accommodate. Molly Ringwald and Marc Cohn have each performed here twice. Really, it is too hard to pick our favorites, as so many artists have left such a wonderful impression and lasting relationship…like Pam Tillis and her father, Mel Tillis, before he passed away.

Our theatre is an intimate space, so there’s no bad seat in the house! For all ticket holders, we offer a meet and greet with most artists including a complimentary reception with every performance, great parking, free mailings, free ticket exchanges and personal box office support.


The Library Theatre on Facebook


The Library Theatre is sponsored in part by the City of Hoover and the Friends of the Hoover Public Library.

The Library Theatre is a professional venue bringing world-class entertainment to an intimate setting in the heart of Hoover.


Frank Brocato

Hal Humphrey, President
Ruth Cole
Colleen Eikmeier
Phil Hutcheson
Cherinita Reese
Michael Krawcheck, Trustee Emeritus
Eloise Martens, Trustee Emeritus

Library Director
Amanda Borden

Fine Arts Manager
Matina E. Johnson

Hoover City Council - Gene Smith
President, John Greene
President Pro Tempore
John Lyda
Dr. Casey Middlebrooks
Derrick Murphy
Curt Posey
Mike Shaw