Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

Hoover Public Library | imagineMORE

Blog, News and Happenings

So, I spent most of my childhood in Germany, home of Haribo.  I am a gummi connoisseur.  I prefer traditional bears and anything that has German on the packaging.  It's just better, guys.  Have I been known to slurp down a gummi worm?  Of course.  Do I prefer the worms that are also sour?  Definitely.  I love Trolli Sour Brite Crawlers.  So I'm celebrating a lesser-known holiday today.  July 15, 2019 is National Gummi Worm Day!  My celebration will include eating gummi worms (naturally) and reading a new picture book that just begs to be brought to life via gummi worms.

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt (March 19, 2019)
E  MAB  NEW BOOK
This is part counting book, part introduction to worms, but all superbly silly. The fact that the author/illustrator can only draw worms will not take anything away from the laugh-out-loud adventure readers will have as they turn the pages of this slightly subversive story.  This hilarious picture book in bright, neon colors is perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures and The Day the Crayons Quit.

On July 20, 1969, millions of people gathered around their televisions to watch two U.S. astronauts do something no one had ever done before. Wearing bulky space suits and backpacks of oxygen to breathe, Neil Armstrong and Edwin “Buzz” Aldrin became the first human beings to walk on the moon.  After the two stepped onto the lunar surface, Armstrong proclaimed these famous words: “That's one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind."

We will be making one giant leap for library-kind at our Lunar Landing event on July 20, 2019 at 10:30 a.m.  We will celebrate the 50th anniversary of this major accomplishment by dodging asteroids and navigating the darkside of the moon in a Moon Walk Obstacle Course. We'll also sort moon rocks, create a tinfoil moon, and launch straw rockets.  We'll even send cows sling-shotting over the moon.  (Can I get a Hey Diddle Diddle, y'all?)

To learn more about this historic moment, take a look at the always awesome DK Findout!  You can also check out fact-filled books in the Kid Zone.  Look for Dewey Decimal numbers 629.4 and 629.45.  Biographies about Armstrong and Aldrin can be found under JB ARM and JB ALD.  Want to find out how our state is celebrating?  See what the U.S. Space and Rocket Center in Huntsville, AL has planned.

You've been watching his music videos in the picture book room all summer long.  Now you get to see the one and only Roger Day in the Library Theatre!  Sing and dance along to Roly Poly, Mosquito Burrito, and the rest of your favorites.  And remember that you can find Roger Day at the Hoover Public Library every single day!  We have his CDs in the PERFORMERS section of the Kid Zone music collection, and we have his DVDs under ROG in the Kid Zone's entertainment movie collection.

Roger Day
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
10:30 a.m., 2:00 p.m. and 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 17, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

Thursday, July 18, 2019
10:30 a.m. and 2:00 p.m.

* IMPORTANT SEATING GUIDELINES *
Seating in the Library Theatre is restricted to 250 guests.  All guests will be seated on a first come, first served basis by library staff.  All parties must be present to be seated.  Saving seats is not allowed.  Please arrive early to ensure your spot!