Top Menu FAQ Membershipts etc

Search the catalog above.

Friends of the Hoover Public Library

Thanks to a small group of energetic and determined Hoover residents the FRIENDS was established in 1982. They recognized the need for a library in the rapidly expanding city of Hoover and the rest is history.

FRIENDS have fun! FRIENDS have great programs! FRIENDS are fascinating people!

Join and you’ll be glad you did.

 

The Friends are on Facebook! www.facebook.com/friendsofhooverlibrary

 

Information about Donating Books and Materials

Guidelines for donating materials to the Hoover Public Library
 

Officers 2019-2020

President Roberta Atkinson
First Vice President Deborah Fick
Second Vice President Theresa Reed
Recording Secretary Mike Reed
Corresponding Secretary Sabra Carpenter
Treasurer Jan Greer
Assistant Treasurer Cathy Storch
Historian Phyllis Vaughan
Parliamentarian Theresa Reed

 

 

Upcoming Friends Events 2019-2020

For regular monthly meetings, refreshments begin at 9:45 am and the presentation at 10 am. Events are free and open to everyone!

Monday, September 9
Why Books Matter with Jim Reed, Owner of Reed Books and the Museum of Fond Memories

Thursday, September 19, 6 pm - 8 pm
Fall Book Sale Friends Member Preview Party

Friday, September 20, 9 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday, September 21, 10 am - 5:30 pm
Fall Book Sale on the Theatre Level

Monday, October 7
Enhancing the Lives of Older Adults with Juanita Macon from Positive Maturity

Monday, November 4
The History of Vulcan and the Birmingham History Center Collection with Lindsey Elliott, Collections Manager of Vulcan Park and Museum

Monday, January 6, 2020
Colonel Edmund Winchester Rucker: Civil War Hero and Birmingham Entrepreneur with Mike Rucker, author of The Meanest and ‘Damnest’ Job

Monday, February 3, 2020
State of the City Address with Hoover’s Mayor, Frank V. Brocato

Monday, March 2, 2020
Hoover's History with author Heather Skaggs

Monday, April 6, 2020, 10 am - 11:30 am
Membership Coffee on the Plaza

Monday, May 4, 2020
Annual Luncheon and Installation of Officers