user bar first menu

Library Account Login


Log in to your library account above.
Search the catalog above.

What's Happening at the Hoover Public Library.

Library Blog

Information on events, library related happenings, and other deep thoughts from our library staff.

The Making of a Navy SEAL

Yes, summer reading is over, but that doesn't mean you have to quit reading books about heroes!  Especially real-life heroes.  How else are you going to be inspired?

The Making of a Navy SEAL: My Story of Surviving the Toughest Challenge and Training the Best by Brandon Webb

"Brandon Webb's experiences in the world's most elite sniper corps are the stuff of legend. From his grueling years of training in Naval Special Operations to his combat tours in the Persian Gulf and Afghanistan, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a rare and riveting look at the inner workings of the U.S. military through the eyes of a covert operations specialist. Yet it is Webb's distinguished second career as a lead instructor for the shadowy "sniper cell" and Course Manager of the Navy SEAL Sniper Program that trained some of America's finest and deadliest warriors--including Marcus Luttrell and Chris Kyle--that makes his story so compelling.  From a candid chronicle of his student days, going through the sniper course himself, to his hair-raising close calls with Taliban and al Qaeda forces in the northern Afghanistan wilderness, to his vivid account of designing new sniper standards and training some of the most accomplished snipers of the twenty-first century, Webb provides a rare look at the making of the Special Operations warriors who are at the forefront of today's military. Explosive, revealing, and intelligent, The Making of a Navy SEAL provides a uniquely personal glimpse into one of the most challenging and secretive military training courses in the world."

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

I Like My Graphic Novels Sunny Side Up

The Holm siblings, Jennifer L. and Matthew, are the creators of the Babymouse series.  They have teamed up once again -- this time to create a graphic novel based on true events from their childhood.  Sunny Side Up is a must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Cece Bell!

It's the summer of 1976.  Sunny’s planned vacation with a best friend has turned into a solo trip to visit her grandfather at a Florida retirement village.  Happily, there is one other child around: Buzz, a groundskeeper's boy, who turns her on to superhero comics and joins her in starting up a moderately lucrative business recovering golf balls and residents' (illegal) lost cats. Less happily, interspersed flashbacks reveal the reason for the sudden change of plans by tracking her older brother Dale's increasingly erratic behavior and drug abuse, leading up to an intervention in the wake of a violent incident.

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Lair of Dreams

In 2012, Libba Bray blew me (and the rest of the reading world) away with The Diviners, her 1920’s-set New York City crime thriller laced with paranormal and occult happenings.  Then she blew us off!  No sequel for three long years!  Our wait is over, and critics agree that Lair of Dreams was worth the wait.  The story picks up with flapper Evie O’Neill, who has not only revealed herself as a Diviner after battling a serial killer, but has become a media sensation. Meanwhile, a strange sleeping sickness spreads across New York, and the Diviners—including Henry Dubois and Ling Chan, who can walk in dreams—must figure out how to save the city.  

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Chris Lynch is a total ace at war fiction.  He concludes his series about "The Good War" with World War II: The Liberators.

"The US Marines Corps is home to some of the roughest, toughest combatants in World War II. Their courage and daring are legendary. And the best of the best — the boldest among them are joining the Corps' elite new paratrooper combat unit. As Paramarines, they'll be expected to do everything a typical Marine does... and do it while skydiving. Nick Nardini knows that he's destined to become a Paramarine. He also knows that he has to convince his best friend, Zachary Klecko, to sign up too. Nardini and Klecko used to be inseparable, ever since they met in kindergarten, but recently they've been drifting apart. Fighting in the same battalion — and jumping out of the same planes —- seems to Nardini like a surefire way to restore their bond and come out of the war stronger than ever. The Axis powers, however, may have other ideas… When Nick Nardini enlists in the Marine Corps' new paratrooper combat unit at the start of World War II, he talks his best friend, Zachary Klecko, into joining him in what he sees as an adventure — but from boot camp on it is clear that Zach is much more serious about the war than Nick is, at least until they are assigned to one of the POW recovery teams on the Japanese mainland."

  1. World War II: The Right Fight
  2. World War II: Dead in the Water
  3. World War II: Alive and Kicking
  4. World War II: The Liberators [no record yet -- keep checking!]

Tedd Arnold has done it again!  Prince Fly Guy, the fifteenth Fly Guy book, will surely fly right off the shelves!

"Buzz has a homework assignment to write a fairy tale and he asks Fly Guy to help. Fly Guy doesn't like to think of himself as some of Buzz's suggestions--an ugly troll, a smelly pig herder--so he becomes a handsome prince instead! Prince Fly Guy flies to a dark castle, fends off a giant, and rescues a beautiful princess."

Find all of Fly Guy's stories under E  ARN  BEGINNING READER.
And don't miss Fly Guy's nonfiction adventures!
Fly Guy Presents: Dinosaurs under E  567.9  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Firefighters under E  628.9  ARN  BEGINNING READER 
Fly Guy Presents: Insects under E  595.7  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Sharks under E  597.2  ARN  BEGINNING READER
Fly Guy Presents: Space under E  520  ARN  BEGINNING READER

 

Tarshis & Tornadoes

Lauren Tarshis has a new nail-biting survival story coming out on August 25, 2015!  I Survived the Joplin Tornado, 2011, the twelfth title in her popular series, places a young boy in the middle of one of the deadliest tornadoes to strike the United States since 1947.  The 2011 Joplin tornado was a catastrophic tornado that struck Joplin, Missouri.  It was part of a larger tornado outbreak in the spring of that year and reached a maximum width of nearly 1 mile during its path through the southern part of the city, killing 158 people, injuring over 1,000 and caused damages amounting to a total of $2.8 billion, making it the costliest single tornado in U.S. history.

Learn more about the destructive power of tornadoes with these nonfiction titles.
Anatomy of a Tornado by Terri Dougherty
How Do Tornadoes Form? by Renee C. Rebman
How to Survive a Tornado by Michael Martin (also available as ebook)
Tornado by Jessica Rudolph
Tornado!: The Story Behind These Twisting, Turning, Spinning, and Spiraling Storms by Judith Bloom Fradin
Tornadoes by Sue L. Hamilton

 

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

This Just In! -- Book Club Is Back in Session!

This Just In!, our new-books book club for grades 4-6, is just one month away!  If you'd like to be part of this group of reading titans, here's what you need to do:

  1. Read a book published in the last six months.  It can be absolutely any book you want!
  2. Sign up online or by phone (444-7830) for our first meeting.
  3. We will meet on Monday, September 21, 2015 at 6:30 p.m. in the programming room.  Bring your book with you!
  4. We'll discuss our books then make commercials to let the world know just how amazing we thought they were. Our commercial for September's meeting is Billboard Bobbleheads.

Can't wait to see you there!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Hamster Princess

Yes, you read that title correctly.  Ursula Vernon, author of the Dragonbreath series, has a new book.  Hamster Princess: Harriet the Invincible gives the Sleeping Beauty story a feisty and furry twist, complete with comics.  Recommended for fans of Babymouse and The Land of Stories.

"Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you’ll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet’s parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she’s twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she’s invincible until she’s twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey…until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way."

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

The Day the Crayons Came Home

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers is one of the most perfect picture books I have ever read.  Kids and adults alike find the heartfelt letters from a box of crayons equal parts hilarious and wise.  That's why everyone who has read it is so excited about the sequel -- The Day the Crayons Came Home

"Watch out - the crayons are back and they're crosser than ever! One day Duncan receives a set of postcards from his crayons who have been lost, forgotten, broken - even melted in a clothes dryer and stuck to a pair of underpants!"

PARTY BONUS
In September, the Kid Zone will be hosting a party based on these books!  Stay tuned to the blog for more information!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Auggie & Me

Over 2 million people have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman when they read Wonder by R. J. Palacio.  Palacio also penned three short stories. These titles -- The Julian Chapter, Pluto, and Shingaling -- have only been available in ebook format . . . until now.  All three are presented in a single book called Auggie & Me: Three Wonder Stories.  These stories are an extra peek at Auggie before he started at Beecher Prep and during his first year there. Readers get to see him through the eyes of Julian, the bully; Christopher, Auggie’s oldest friend; and Charlotte, Auggie’s new friend at school.  Perfect for readers eager for more Wonder in their life!

Target Age: 
Katiem's picture
Author: 
Katiem

Pages